Oats normally do not contain gluten. Generally oats will become cross-contaminated in the food processing chain. Research indicates that the majority of those with celiac disease can tolerate oats when in their natural (uncontaminated) form. A small percentage of those with celiac disease still do react to natural (uncontaminated) oats. … Read More
Celiac Disease is an autoimmune disorder. It is a genetically predisposed disease that affects the small intestine. Many symptoms are associated with celiac disease, such as diarrhea, faltering weight, pain and discomfort in the digestive tract, fatigue and anemia, chronic constipation, and vitamin deficiencies.
Gluten is a protein. It is found in foods that are made from wheat and other grains, such as barley and rye. Gluten is used to give dough a chewy texture and also to help it rise and keep its shape. Gluten is also found in many non-food related products … Read More